Wednesday, 8 April 2009

A Day at Home, Taylor Swift, and TV

Hello! 

Today my family were all in London, so I had the house to myself... YES!!! I love this. I enjoy being completely by myself once in a while. But I think the real reason I love having the house to myself is I can watch whatever I want on TV and eat whatever I want whenever I want and not be judged by my family members (namely Mum and Dad). Admittedly, now that I'm 20 and I live away from home when it's university term time it doesn't have the same charm it used to, but I still enjoy a good day at home by myself. 

I also took some time to play guitar and sing, one of the things that I love the most in life. You know when people say that the thing they love is the thing that makes them feel most alive? Yes, that is true for me. I feel so right when I am singing and playing guitar. I probably should have sat down to work on some songwriting, or just sing my heart out in a way I might not have done with my family around, but I just enjoyed doing what I usually do.

On that note, I have to slightly ashamedly admit to loving the song 'Love Story' by Taylor Swift. *cringe*. It's a good song, I probably shouldn't be that ashamed. However, I think I have pinpointed two reasons why I feel like I shouldn't like the song. 1) It's kind of a bit to close for comfort to country music... which I have some objections to, and 2) it's TAYLOR SWIFT!!! *hides* I guess I feel the need to rebel against liking the outrageously popular teen singer image she is a part of. She's a bit too similar to Miley Cyrus and co. She has a sparkly guitar for goodness sake. A SPARKLY GUITAR. Bad times.

But, I find myself actually really liking a lot of her songs, possibly against my better judgement. Perhaps I will have to get over my shame and just admit that I like her music. And slightly back to topic, in particular 'Love Song'... It's so DARN CATCHY! Haha. I had a great time playing and singing that today... Love it. :o) 

If you're reading, leave a comment giving your opinion on Taylor Swift. Good? Bad? Cheesy teen pop? Talented singer-songwriter? Should I be ashamed of my newfound liking for her music? Or is it acceptable? Haha, I'd be interested to know... 

...

Happy Thing of the Day: Slightly trashy Teen Dramas (if that's even the name for the genre?! - One Tree Hill, Smallville, The O.C. etc.)

No comments:

Post a Comment